About

I’m a work in progress.

I was raised in Texas where it’s not uncommon for women to be showered, dressed, and fully made up before making their way to the breakfast table. But in my house it’s not uncommon for me to change into new pajamas on a Saturday night because I spent all day in my pjs from the night before.

I love arts + crafts, and the more geriatric-sounding, the better.  Knitting and crocheting are my go-to’s, but I’m gradually learning how to sew and recently starting teaching myself calligraphy.

People think I love to cook.  I don’t mind cooking, but mostly I love to eat.  Aside from really spicy food, I love trying new flavors and combinations, and so, if I have to be the one to put them together, I’ll try.  I can follow another person’s recipe, but I am fear-stricken by the idea of trying to concoct my own.  (Note: Call me out on this.  Make me try something.) 

I love actions movies.  My first summer out of college,  I moved to a new town where I knew no one.  I became very well-acquainted with the local Blockbuster video and dubbed it the Summer of Stallone.  I have a countdown on my phone to when the next installment of the Fast & Furious franchise comes into theaters (376 days and counting til Furious 8!).

My adult life is best summarized as a list of things I did after swearing to never do:

  • stay in Texas after graduating high school
  • live in Austin
  • become a teacher
  • become a science teacher
  • own a dog
  • online date
  • move back home

The list continues, but each of those things ended up being the greatest thing to happen to my life at the time.

Surprises are my favorite.